Region of Tarazona and Moncayo

The region of Tarazona and Moncayo consists of 16 municipalities: Alcala de Moncayo, Añon of Moncayo, El Buste, Los Fayos, Grisel, Litago, Lituénigo, Malon, Novallas, San Martín de la Virgen de Moncayo, Santa Cruz de Moncayo, Tarazona, Torrellas, Trasmoz, Vera de Moncayo and Vierlas.

Apart from Tarazona, another must visit is the Monastery of Veruela, one of the most important Cistercian monasteries in Spain. Founded in 1145, and declared a National Monument. From "his cell," Becquer wrote several of his best works.

While all people deserve a visit, the castle of Trasmoz and its Museum of Witchcraft, mosques Tórtoles and Torrellas, the rocks of Los Fayos, the castle of Grisel, the Gothic church of Añón and several museums scattered throughout the region are other recommendations.

As for the popular traditions, highlight the Cipotegato of Tarazona, weighing Lituénigo, the closure Walk to Novallas, Witch Trasmoz, etc.

For more information: